Civic Administration of Pune

Pune Urban Agglomeration comprises 5 civic bodies, namely

  * Pune Municipal Corporation
  * Pimpri-Chinchwad Municipal Corporation (PCMC)
  * Khadki (Also called Kirkee) Cantonment Board (KCB)
  * Pune Cantonment Board (PCB)
  * Dehu Road Cantonment Board

The main city is administered by the Pune Municipal Corporation (PMC). The executive power of the corporation is vested in the Municipal Commissioner, an IAS officer appointed by the state government. The corporation consists of directly elected corporators headed by a titular Mayor. The mayor has few executive powers. The PMC is in charge of the civic needs and infrastructure of the metropolis. Pune is divided into forty-eight municipal wards, each overseen by an Assistant Municipal Commissioner for administrative purposes. The corporators of the administration are voted through a popular vote and almost all the state political parties field their candidates.

The city is in the Haveli Taluka (county) in Pune District, Maharashtra. The district is under the jurisdiction of the District Collector. The collectors are in charge of property records and revenue collection for the Central government. They also oversee the national elections held in the city.

Like other metropolises in India, the Pune Police is headed by a Police Commissioner, an IPS officer. The Pune Police comes under the state Home Ministry.